A reflection

releasing...letting go

releasing...letting go

As I am packing up Margaret’s clothing, finding art supplies.. some still packaged, tags dangling from clothes, stuff unworn, perhaps saved for a special occasion, I see myself.   It is a mirror.  I see myself here as the “collector”.  Her clothes will go to someone who can use them and her supplies won’t go unused by me or my students… but it won’t be used by her.  How many times have I myself  bought something… “just in case” or for later on.. or because it was a deal too good to be missed…. and it sits…. waiting to be used or worn.

Sometimes, it never does get used.   The perfect project is sometimes too far in the future and that special paper ends up tattered instead.  The dress goes unworn because you gained weight… no longer useful.   And then there is the “buy it because you may not find it again” logic.  That comes from my mom. 

My brother didn’t inherit this mindset though.  He comes from the different end of the spectrum.  Nothing has a chance to gather dust.  Out it goes.  There are no “leftovers”!

Now, I do know better.  I really do.  Experience has PROVEN that it provides when the time is right.. or ripe.  Why pluck the fruit before it is ready, just because you think you might need it later.   The awareness is there.  It is in the forefront of my consciousness.  It has smacked me in the face actually.. this time a bit harder and deeper.  A mirror has been put up before me.  It says, “use this stuff.. or give it away”.

Let it go. 

Nature provides us with wisdom.  It has no problem with letting go.  I took a walk yesterday to a neighbor’s garden.  Those poppies were finishing up.. they need to let go in order to leave their seeds.  We need to let go in order to make room for something new.  A new flower.  Death includes life.

Transformation.  Change.  Allowing.  Growing. Life’s lessons. 

We learn… and then we do the laundry.

9 Comments

  1. June 4, 2009 at 12:30 am

    What a beautiful message, Doreen.
    Nothing like having smack dab in our face..especially when we “get it”. I too am reminded of what you describe as I room with those items everyday; and I’ve let go of a lot, I have a few that I’ve given permission to keep, but still…will they get used? Often I’ll buy 2 of something I like, in case something happens to the 1st one, I’l have a back-up…that sits int the drawer for years. — It occurs to me that maybe it’s about trusting..that what we need in that future moment…we will have…whether it’s what we have in mind today, or something different… better….but trusting it will be…what we need. Thank you for sharing your lessons in transformation with us..
    Blessings to you..

    • Dianne said,

      June 6, 2009 at 10:37 am

      Cheryl, I have also bought backups. One to wear when the other is in the laundry, if it is something I am “in love” with. Now I am consigning a lot of clothing, household items and even jewelry. I am alone and have no one to “inherit” my treasures. As I let things go I feel several things: I remember when I purchased whatever it is and the very temporary joy it brought to me at the moment. And how little lasting joy there is in “things.” I am putting together a booksale and I am amazed at some of the duplicates I am finding. I found two books on mandalas that I had forgotten that I had purchased at least a decade ago. One of them I bought again this year at Amazon! My true interests resurface.

  2. June 4, 2009 at 1:00 am

    And.. I so LOVE this photo.. the colors, the symbolism… would love to have that framed… you’re an amazing photographer! this photo is simply breathtaking…

  3. stacy wills said,

    June 5, 2009 at 8:10 am

    so glad you’ve got your new blog up and running. your words strike a deep chord.

  4. Gabi said,

    June 6, 2009 at 4:55 am

    The photo does not show on my computer … what happened?

    Gabi from Japan

  5. Pattie said,

    June 7, 2009 at 7:37 am

    sentiments of the words and the photo totally speak to me…..as I make my way through one room at a time!

  6. Joanne said,

    June 14, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Today you found the Eiffel Tower that I was looking for!
    And it was a call for me to come here and see this message, which rings so true.
    I had just been piling up some bags of things to bring to a thrift store, amazed by how I still have so much.
    And then I saw your beautiful post.
    That (your post) is what I found today.
    Merci!

    • doegrozart said,

      June 15, 2009 at 11:05 am

      Joanne.. I just LOVE it!!!
      Isn’t life grand 🙂

  7. Vicky said,

    August 11, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Hi Doreen, Found your link in the Mandala Oasis e-group. A phrase caught my attention in the post–you said “Death includes life.” It reminded me of a poem called “Love Remains” that I was inspired to write after the death of my grandmother. The poem talks about death and life as players of the game of Life, all the while being held in the hand of Love. Here’s a part of the poem that reflects the idea that death includes life:

    Life and Death together walk
    Hand in hand, they play, they talk.
    For like a baby in the womb
    Life sleepily grows inside Death’s tomb.

    Then comes re-awakening! Life’s new birth!
    The promise of joy, hope, love, and mirth!
    Death watches, and awaits another day
    The game will change, soon Death’s turn to play.

    Thanks for the reminder! –Vicky :o)


Leave a Reply

