IMG_2256

There are some advantages to my “summer job”.  It is the environment.  There are a few camps and long ago I decided to work at this location.  It’s in a park next to a lake.  When I first began teaching art at camp, the groups were small.  I had a small craft hut with some picnic tables right outside.  A small zoo right behind the craft hut.  Peacocks, rabbits, donkey, pigs…  One of the  guys that took care of the park would gift me with peacock feathers that would be shed. 

Zoo is long gone, as is the craft hut.  Now I’m under a large tent that sits besides the lake.  When the heat rises, the kids out of control.. I go to the swans.  Sometimes I spend some of my lunch just watching.  Last year I was focused on a catepillar that kept coming into the art tent.  This year it’s the swans.

IMG_2253

We  chat.. I protect them from junk food and stuff thrown over the fence as best I can.  It is calming and I’ve collected a few of their feathers.  My mandala friend Sue created a beautiful mandala from some that I sent her… take a look… http://sacred-circle-mandalas.blogspot.com/

IMG_2263

and then the butterfly visited, sitting in the middle of the geese and swans, allowing me to take it’s picture as well………

2 Comments

  1. August 5, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    What a nurturing way to spend the summer… surrounded by feathered friends. How nice of Swan and Butterfly to linger and let you take their portrait. Thanks for sharing. They’re exquisite beauties.

    Blessings…’
    Cheryl

    • Doreen said,

      August 5, 2009 at 8:17 pm

      Realizing that both Swan and Butterfly have to do with transformation 🙂


Leave a Reply

